You are currently viewing Over 20 heads of govts gather in Abuja for Tinubu’s inauguration

Over 20 heads of govts gather in Abuja for Tinubu’s inauguration

About 20 presidents from countries around the world are already in Abuja, for today’s historic inauguration of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu as the 16th president of the country.

High-powered delegation from Rwanda, America, South Africa, Canada, China Turkey, the United Kingdom, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Tanzania Qatar, Burundi, Canada, Ghana, India would be at today’s historic occasion.

After his arrival to the country on Sunday, the Rwandan presidency tweeted that: “President Kagame has arrived in Abuja, Nigeria, where he will attend the swearing-in ceremony of President-elect Bola Ahmed Tinubu alongside other Heads of State from around the world.”

While the Canadian delegation is being led by the Minister of Housing, Diversity and Inclusion, Ahmed Hussen; the Indian team arrived the country with the Defence Minister, Mr Rajnath Singh, as a Special Envoy of the Prime Minister.

The ceremony would be happening at the Eagle Square, amid tight security.

While the inauguration would be taking place in Abuja, similar exercises would be happening in 28 other states in the country.

Ebonyi, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Oyo, Benue, Borno, Cross River and Zamfara.

Others are Abia, Enugu, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Bauchi, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe and Delta states.

This inauguration is the 7th democratic transition of power since democracy was restored 24 years ago in the country.

Leave a Reply