You are currently viewing RMD, Afolayan, others make Oscars members list

RMD, Afolayan, others make Oscars members list

Congratulations are in order for the four new members of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Science, other wise known as the Oscars. They represent part of the 398 member-class of 2023.

They include veteran actor, Richard Mofe-Damijo, award-winning movie maker, Kunle Afolayan, Shola Dada, the writer of award winning movies, Roti and Anikulapo and C.J Obasi, a film maker.

On its website on Wednesday, the Academy wrote: “The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has extended invitations to 398 distinguished artists and executives to join the organization in 2023. Membership selection is based on professional qualifications, with an ongoing commitment to representation, inclusion and equity.

“The Academy is proud to welcome these artists and professionals into our membership. They represent extraordinary global talent across cinematic disciplines, and have made a vital impact on the arts and sciences of motion pictures and on movie fans worldwide,” stated Bill Kramer and the Academy President Janet Yang.

The inclusion of members to the academy allows for more representation from people of colour and women in particular. This was expedient especially after an uproar that a certain class of people were being sidelined in the Oscar voting process.

The four new members would be joining fellow compatriots, movie producer, Mo’ Abudu, actor, Ramsey Noah, actress Omotola Jalade Ekeinde, Nigerian born British actress Wunmi Mosaku, filmmaker Femi Odugbemi, British-Nigerian film director Ngozi Onwurah, veteran filmmaker Tunde Kelani, actress Genevieve Nnaji, movie director, writer and actor Akin Omotoso and British actress and singer, Cynthia Onyedinmanasu Chinasaokwu Erivo. They were all appointed members in 2019 and 2020 respectively.

Leave a Reply